A learning experience

ALASTAIR PAULIN – Nelson | Saturday, 05 July 2008

The news that Nelson is on the shortlist as a site for a United World College jolted me back 24 years, to when I was 17 and staring out a van window at run-down shacks, desert rock formations and tumble-weeds in New Mexico.

I was on my way to the United World College of the American West, an international school for 200 hand-picked teenagers, its aim to foster international understanding and peace. The vision sounded lofty and prestigious; the view was anything but. What had I got myself into?

read more: http://www.stuff.co.nz/stuff/nelsonmail/4608928a19260.html

– United World College Student Magazine –

Tell us what you think!

