AC students experience Nuremberg’s history

Christine Ajinjeru (Uganda, AC 08-10)

Time well spent is the least I can say to describe my trip to Nuremberg. I was fascinated by what was in this medieval town that is still vibrant and radiant. This was going to be my home for the next six days. I did not mind at all, because I had already fallen in love with the town. I stayed with a lovely young couple who opened their doors and hearts and spoilt me, especially when it came to food. See if any of these ring a bell: Pretzels, Nuremberger sausages, sauerkraut, potato salad, apple straddle, Tucher beer (in plenty), and apple crisps. If they don’t, it’s high time you prepared your taste buds, and made a trip to Nuremberg.

 
The first thing that comes to mind when one thinks of Nuremberg is the “Nuremberg Trials”, or the Nazi activities that took place there. I had the opportunity to visit the “Palace of Justice” where I got first-hand information about all the trials and verdicts that were reached during the trials of the Nazi Party leaders. I had a tour of the Rally Grounds as well where Hitler staged all the Party rallies. The Documentation Centre, which is now housed in the only standing Nazi building, contains overwhelming information about the Nazi regime.

I was reduced to tears in Dachau Concentration camp. Cold chills went down my spine when I stood in the rooms that were once the “Gas chambers” where numerous deaths took place. Some of the structures are still standing and these include the Roll-Call Area where the prisoners were paraded each morning, The Bunker which was specially built to keep individual prisoners in separate rooms, the beam where the prisoners were hanged, and the Crematorium.

I did not want to leave Nuremberg, after experiencing all its diverse aspects. I will not only remember the rich history but also the wonderful reception, hospitality and culture of this time.

– United World College Student Magazine –

Tell us what you think!

