Ohana and the UWC experience

Michelle Asuncion (Philippines, AC 08-10)

 

As the camera shutter clicked, in a blink of an eye, I saw myself lying in the beast garden. My whole leg was in severe pain. I can still clearly visualize the ambulance, the stretchers, big needles and injections. The sound of the siren comes back to me. I was brought to the operating theatre; my greatest fear…I can still remember my cry of pain, in a split second I was knocked out by the morphine. I woke up in the ward on a beautiful Sunday morning after my operation. I was terrified as I saw my casted leg…

 

Sometimes struggles are just what we need in life. If we were to go through a life without any difficulties we would not be as strong as what we could have been. My experiences made me appreciate the many people who care and selflessly love me. My family back home, my AC family and my friends selflessly supported me in the darkest time of my life. I would never forget the cards, phone calls, cakes, or the laughter. I keep in mind the funny stories, the “can I push you with the wheelchair” lines, and the “Michelle Rota” posted on Tice’s notice board. Now, I have a closer understanding of what unconditional love is. My AC experience made me experience the essence of Ohana (Ohana, means family, family means nobody gets left behind or forgotten).

– United World College Student Magazine –

Tell us what you think!

