“Changing lives, one smile at a time”- Atlantic College’s Operation Smile Team

Jawad Al-Masannat (Jordan, AC 08-10)

In Summer 2006, my sister dragged me along to a medical student meeting concerning the launch of a new NGO. It seemed interesting enough for my parents and me, so I went along, and discovered that this new NGO in Jordan was for me.

I sat there looking at everyone’s friendship and passion for what they were beginning. The room was full of energy, something I had never experienced before. This team was planning another medical mission that was to take place in my hometown. I was about to learn and share much.

I was taken in an operation room to watch one of the surgeries. It took less than 45 minutes to print a beautiful smile on a child’s face, a smile that desperately found its way out thanks to generous people’s donations.

Atlantic College has given me a chance to carry on and spread what I’ve learnt from Operation Smile’s Team Jordan. Now, along with two other committed colleges, I am leading a successful activity that aims to spread awareness and to raise modest donations that will have a huge impact on a child’s life. We have held several bake sales, and have engaged in talks and meetings where we have shared experiences and built friendships between us.
Now, AC’s Operation Smile team is looking forward to a recent AC hit, Cinderfella.  It’s been quoted that the fundraising event is ‘’an AC invention that insures gender equality!’’ Several college males dress up, put make up on, and enter a beauty pageant, displaying their feminine sides. Surely Cinderfella will create a giggle amongst the students again this year.

Today, three years after, I am still counting down the days to join my next mission. “Operation Smile mobilizes a world of generous hearts to heal children’s smiles and transform lives across the globe.”

It’s not just about us. It’s about thousands of kids hiding in the shades of poverty, born yearly with fixable facial deformities. We all share a smile at the College, and we send a message of peace and equality by adopting a  UWC lifestyle. Through Operation Smile, this has been one step towards putting UWC ideals into actions around the world. Thanks to everyone who has made drawing a smile on a child’s face possible.

Changing lives, one smile at a time.

-United World College Student Magazine-

One thought on ““Changing lives, one smile at a time”- Atlantic College’s Operation Smile Team

Tell us what you think!

