A poem dedicated to the women I work with in Social Service

Seeing through her eyes

The silence bores a hole through me

bringing with it moans and grumbles from the stuffy rooms

“How do people live like this?”

I thought I had to save them

I had to break into their deserted world

and show them a whole new world.

I talked about family;

about love and life.

The room is silent safe for Isma

and the white frail lady;

Mary, whom she talks to.

“I have no family” Doreen breaks in

“no children and no love”

I look into her blank glazed pupils,

my hand gently finding her soft freckled palms

“Know what Doreen? I am your family

I am your child. You just found love”

The glass shatters, falls as tears

soaking our palms

I feel the salty liquid on my lips

 And realise that I too had been crying

She smiles at the knowledge of my smile

and our tears merge on the sofa

and slide down; as though washed away,

Forgotten.

“You both look drunk” Mary says

breaking into our reverie

Doreen burst into a hearty laughter

And I join in.

The room gets filled with murmurs,

Then comments,

and laughter.

– United World College Student Magazine –

2 thoughts on “A poem dedicated to the women I work with in Social Service

Tell us what you think!

