A poem, written “In a summer night, thinking of home…”

Khristian Mendez (Guatemala, MUWCI 09-11)

In a summer night, thinking of home, thinking of this place, I felt somehow caught in between. I don’t know what caught me though… it might have been homesickness and passion for being in MUWCI, or what I want to do, and what I need to do in the future, I think I felt drowning in between.

Mermaids

Mermaids that sing to my melancholy in this summer night.
Sitting outside my house, sitting, awake at dusk
and with another world in my eyes I see them almost close to touch.
One of them smiles and reminds me it’s not that hard to float in the emptiness.

Mermaids that drown me in the iron sea of my wishes and limitations.
They take my ankles and pull and pull taking me downwards, drowning me.
It’s easy to let go of those truths that we hold on to, and live illusions.
Where will this life take me? Where will I let it take me through exciting?

Mermaids that sing from the distant land where my mind flies
in those nights where between the pillow and my thoughts
there’s no room for the sleep that shuts my eyes and lets me go momentarily

-United Words Magazine-

One thought on “A poem, written “In a summer night, thinking of home…”

Tell us what you think!

