My “UWCphobia”

Trang Nguyen (Vietnam, MUWCI 10-12)

Honestly, I am fearful of going to the UWC. First of all, I am fearful of exposing myself to such a diverse and multicultural community. The thought of getting myself immersed in a multifarious society created by people from over 80 countries suddenly comes to me as a nerve-racking excitement. How can I remember and pronounce properly every single name of my friends, teachers, or even school staffs? How can I cram all of their wonderful cultural traditions into my tiny brain? How can I understand and be in harmony with people from different corners of the world? I hate myself for having a short memory and that’s why I am now worried that I won’t be able to learn interesting and special things from all of you!

Secondly, I am fearful of the amount of knowledge that I’m going to acquire in the next two years at the UWC. The IB program is obviously an extraordinary chance for me to discover my hidden talents, challenge my preconceptions and widen my horizons. However, it’s also undeniably intensive and demanding. Will I be able to memorize and practice those complex formulas of Mathematics, to fully appreciate the beauty of literature by reading numerous books before deadlines, and to cope with the heavy workload while also participate in a myriad of exciting extra-curriculum activities?

Last but not least, I am fearful of my upcoming two-year journey at the UWC. Not only will it be a significant milestone in the life of a teenage girl from a very small country like me, but it will also bring me innumerable unforgettable memories of companionship and maturity. Thus, I am fearful of the moment I graduate from MUWCI at which I will have to say my farewell to India and wave goodbye to my “comrades” after two years of living together, eating together and studying together. On top of that, I wonder if I can live up to the ideals of the UWC- to make a positive difference in this world, and fulfill my aspiration of becoming a lawyer or a social entrepreneur in order to help the unfortunate in society.

Yes, I am scared. But because I am fearful of going to the UWC, the only way for me to defeat that “fear” is coming to the UWC. And after overcoming it, I believe that I will be able to face up to any obstacles in my life.

-United World Colleges Student Magazine-

One thought on “My “UWCphobia”

  1. woot, thankyou! I finally came to a site where the webmaster knows what they’re talking about. Do you know how many results are in Google when I search.. too many! It’s so annoying having to go from page after page after page, wasting my day away with thousands of people just copying eachother’s articles… bah. Anyway, thankyou very much for the info anyway, much appreciated.

Tell us what you think!

