Here I am, on my way towards achieving the utopian dream

José Antonio Cabrera (Spain, LPC UWC 2011-2013)

Here I am. I still remember the day I heard about the UWCs. I was reading an interview about the UWCs and their values. Hence, I decided to submit my application. It has been hard to reach. But this utopian dream came true a few months ago.

There are many things I have always wanted to do in my life. Helping other people as much as possible, studying abroad, discovering different cultures and ways of thinking, and meeting people from everywhere… Like many other 16 years old teenagers, I feel being one of the luckiest people in the world. Who could ever say that I would spend two years- which are probably going to be the best two years of my life in Hong Kong doing everything I have always wanted to do?

As for my expectations, I want to learn in a lot academically but also life experiences. I want to be able to learn from everyone and from everything that will surround me. I have been given the opportunity to learn about everything, and I think I will not miss it. Of course, this experience will be unique and as special as any other. The adrenaline and the excitement bombard me momentarily. My heart skips a beat sometimes at home, when I think about it again, I know that I will get to LPC and be assured that I will forget something that my parents will have to send in a package… There are so many things I know about me, but how many others do I not? Of course, in these amazing two years I will discover, at least, some of the most important things. This makes me feel happy, feel good.

I just want to go there to stop looking at the photos which my second-years have in Facebook. I want to start living this experience as soon as possible; however, I am sure that I will want it to last more than two years.

I cannot give more details because I do not know them. I can only say that I want to enjoy this summer in these southern Spanish lands with my family, my friends and all the people I love, who are going to be the ones that I will miss so much the following two years.

3 thoughts on “Here I am, on my way towards achieving the utopian dream

  1. Jose, I think all of us feel the same way. I always tell my parents that I’m one of the most luckiest people to attend a UWC. I have to say, it will fulfil all my dreams. By the way, I also don’t want to just get a virtual experience by watching videos and looking at the 2nd year’s photos. The world will be in our hands– Thailand, Nepal, America, Canada, Bangladesh, Spain and more. There are a couple of nights where I dreamt being at LPC, running with you guys, talking to Jenny and swimming with our principal. LOL

Tell us what you think!

