What is Art? 2

 Francesca Maviglia (UWCAC, Italy '12-’14)

“I can’t draw a straight line, I can barely draw a circle and I always end up colouring outside the lines. In many ways, I’m the last person you would expect to be ‘artistic’.”

 As a Visual Arts student and Social Sciences nerd, I found myself wondering: what is really Art? What does Art mean to each one of us? What do our pieces day about ourselves, our lives, our community, our experiences?

I asked some Art students and creative individual on campus those questions, and created a series of articles to share their talent and personality. Each article will feature an answer from a different person; and they will be as diverse and unique as the artists themselves.

 ADS

Josephine Foong (UWCAC ’13-’15, Malaysia)

I can’t draw a straight line, I can barely draw a circle and I always end up colouring outside the lines. In many ways, I’m the last person you would expect to be ‘artistic’.

What I’ve come to learn over the past few years is that art can’t and shouldn’t be defined based on one’s ability to draw on a sheet of paper – but rather art is subjective and limitless. Photography, painting and performance art are just some examples of it. Personally, I’ve managed to find and showcase my artistic side through photography. Candidacy is the best part of the job. You’re able to capture moments that would otherwise be forgotten. Photography enables me to showcase the various forms of beauty within different individuals through the click of a button (and the change of a few settings) If asked, I would classify myself as more of a portrait photographer. Nothing gets me going than beautiful light and a willing model. The images produced by the kings and queens of the high fashion industry keep me inspired to shoot and develop in terms of what one would define as ‘artistic’. However, despite the glitz and glamour of the high fashion industry, I’m also in awe of photographers like Jenny Sun (Australian based wedding photographer) who are able to bring out the best in people, travel the world whilst doing what she is passionate about in life. If granted, I’d love to be able to make a career out of my passion.

Till then, don’t be surprised if I came up to you one day to ask you for a photo shoot =)

-United Words Team-

Tell us what you think!

